BWINT IS MOVING

Where you can post announcements and other cool things. Doesn't have to be BW-related.

Moderators: Nurann, Starath, Sinead, Optimal Optimus Primal, Razor One

Sapphire
Site Admin

BWINT IS MOVING

Unread post by Sapphire »

Hi everyone,

I hope this message finds you all well. I apologise for my absence. I've been so busy with life, bogged down with health problems and seriously distracted by my work as a career feminist (but that's a rant for another time).

Today I am announcing that I am moving bwint.net over to a new webhost. I am not sure how this process works as I've never done it before, but I have a general idea how to make the transition. What I don't know, though, is if it will result in any downtime for the site. If it does, please don't panic! I haven't abandoned the site, I am just moving it to a much more affordable (and eco-friendly) webhost.

I am also seriously considering moving the forums. We are having so much trouble with spambots and new user registrations, notification emails and the like with this old phpBB software and I really think it is time for a change. I am not very clued up about what software/platforms people are using for message boards these days (these are pretty much the only forums I go to!) so I am absolutely open to suggestions! I am also looking to find software that will transfer the current forum pages over to the new platform, but I am not sure how/if this is possible. I don't want to lose the RPG. In any case, I will probably keep the old forums up and just link to the new forums on the website until everyone and everything has been moved over.

I am looking to make the move for the site this weekend or next, so if you have suggestions and the site is down, please email them to me at malachite157@yahoo.com

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

--Sapphire